20 Years, 10 songs

I have been asked to compile a list of 8 – 10 songs that form a soundtrack of my life with an explanation of why each song was chosen.

Beautiful Day – U2 – “teach me…I know I’m not a hopeless case” / “It’s a beautiful day, don’t let it get away” / “what you don’t have you don’t need it now. Don’t need it now…” To choose just one U2 song seems almost criminal but one has to do. There are many different pieces I identify with; reveling in a beautiful day, a line about loving this town [St. Louis for me] even if you’re not quite sure why, needing room, needing to grow, needing help, needing grace. Plus it’s the song the President often uses when walking to and leaving the podium for stump speeches and I pay attention to, and help with when I can, his first and current presidential campaign.

Born to Run – Springsteen – “Someday girl I don’t know when we’re gonna get to that place where we really wanna go and we’ll walk in the sun, but till then tramps like us, baby we were born to run” I identify with the lyrics of this song, particularly this section. There had to be at least one song from The Boss and this one fits the best. Like the heroes of this song, I was born to run.

Extraordinary – Mandy Moore – “I was a starling, nobody’s darling/ flying in circles just for company…but now I’m ready, now I’m ready, to be extraordinary” The song seems to be about someone who has grown up always taking direction in everything and is only now taking control. Despite my stubborn personality, my grade school and high school were picked by my parents, my choice of college was greatly influenced by many around me. I loved them all so I was glad of the choices but I have always been the perfect child and the first big choice I truly made for myself was my choice of major. Now, like Ms. Moore I am ready to pursue my dreams and be be extraordinary.

Strip Me – Natasha Bedingfield – This song is uplifting and strong. It also reminds me of a movie it was featured in, Morning Glory. That movie is essentially what I want and can see my life being in 10 years.

Stay Up Late – Talking Heads – I grew up listing to my mother’s top three – Bruce Springsteen, U2, and these guys – The Talking Heads. This one, ranking just above Burning Down the House & Psycho Killer, was my favorite. I find this vaguely ironic now that I have developed a tendency to go to bed early for a college student, and often get teased by my friends about my early self-imposed bed-time.

Runaway – Avril Lavigne –Avril Lavigne is the artist I have liked the longest, outside of the three my mother introduced me to, so my list must include space for an Avril song. This song is, in my opinion, the perfect song for bad days. It also perfectly describes my state of mind when nothing seems to go right.

Let the Rain – Sara Bareilles – We all have insecurities. This song sums up mine perfectly, every word, every line.

Believe in Me – Sons of Admirals – This rendition of the Arthurtheme song reminds me of childhood and pays respects to the best animated show ever. It’s performed by four YouTubers including Charlie McDonnell, a favorite, which makes it even more awesome. These people are also members of a band that makes music about Doctor Who a favorite show that has positively effected my life though my connections with others who watch it.

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor – The Ultimate Running Song. Seriously. I can accomplish anything with this song as my theme song.

Toi + Moi – Gregoire – I love french and I find french music beautiful. This song is about inclusiveness, a large group of people and it’s a little about dancing (I love ballroom).

2 thoughts on “20 Years, 10 songs

  1. Great idea. You’ve motivated me to try my hand at picking 10 songs that can be a soundtrack for my life. Eye of the Tiger would be on my list, too. Love that song… and this post. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

