Music, The Boss, & Mother’s Day

Someday girl I don’t know when were gonna get to that place, where we really want to go and we’ll walk in the sun, But till then tramps like us, baby, we were born to run

Mom & I sing as we dance around the house. I’m 3, 3&1/2, 4, 4&1/2….and dance parties rule. I jump up on the big grey table in the family room and continue to dance my little girl heart out (or in the case of many small children – think I’m dancing).

Someday girl I don’t know when were gonna get to that place, where we really want to go and we’ll walk in the sun, But till then tramps like us, baby, we were born to run

The lyrics float out of the speakers as Mom whips down the highway with me in the backseat. I’m 5 and it’s a typical errand day. Or maybe I’m 7. Maybe I’m 12, now in the front seat. The Boss is always in the background. Belting out his powerful, or sometimes just fun lyrics. He’s her favorite artist. Sometimes she plays Talking Heads and sometimes she plays U2, but usually, when St. Louis Public Radio isn’t playing, the Boss is. Bruce Springsteen rules the radio in this family.

Someday girl I don’t know when were gonna get to that place, where we really want to go and we’ll walk in the sun, But till then tramps like us, baby, we were born to run

I’m 16 and I’m flying down the highway. I’m on my own now. I finally have a driver’s licence. The Boss is now my favorite go-to CD to avoid the radio’s commercials.

I want a thousand guitars, I pounding drums, I want a million different voices speaking in tongues, this is radio nowhere…

I’m 18 and training for my next 5k. My feet pounding on the pavement I fly down the hill. Radio Nowhere has become my go to running song.

Throughout my life, my taste in music has been inspired by my mother’s taste in music. While I found my own music, and often listened to songs she didn’t like – she said they were too “depressing and slow” – the bands I grew up with, my mother’s favorites, have always been my favorites too. The Talking Heads, U2, and Bruce Springsteen have always held a special place in my heart and have always ranked in my top 5 bands. Springsteen and U2 in particular. The thrill of joining my mother at a Springsteen concert, and now this past summer, a U2 concert, has no parallel. All the Owl City, Avril Lavigne, or BNL concerts couldn’t possibly live up to the quality of performer and quality of company as a Springsteen or U2 concert. (I’m not kidding – none of my friends are as fun. They don’t dance at concerts but instead just stand there and stare at the performer.) I have much to thank my mother for come Mother’s Day, not the least of which would be my musical tastes.

I am my mother’s daughter and I also claim U2 and The Boss as my favorites.

One thought on “Music, The Boss, & Mother’s Day

  1. Thank you for a wonderful Mother’s Day Surprise & the new Springsteen Album. You are my favorite running partner.

Leave a Reply

